Prince Harry can now marry Meghan Markle at Westminster Abbey

51208

Fans of Prince Harry and Meghan Markle’s budding romance can rejoice.

A spokesman for Westminster Abbey has just confirmed that the pair could marry in the grand location if they so chose.

Meghan Markle and Prince Harry may soon be engaged - but what ring will he choose Photo (C) GETTY IMAGES
Meghan Markle and Prince Harry may soon be engaged – but what ring will he choose Photo (C) GETTY IMAGES

There has been debate over whether divorcee Meghan would be able to have a wedding in the same place as the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.

However, a spokesman told the Express: “The Abbey follows the General Synod Ruling of 2002. Since then, it has been possible for divorced people to be married in the Church of England.”

The actress previously married producer Trevor Engelson in 2011, divorcing in 2013. The couple wed in a Jewish ceremony; another fact that has proven to be controversial.

Yet there is no law stating that a member of the royal family cannot marry someone of a different faith. It used to be illegal for anyone in direct succession to the throne to marry a Catholic but this was amended in 2015.

Sealed with a kiss Meghan Markle cheers Prince Harry on at the Polo Photo (C) GETTY IMAGES
Sealed with a kiss Meghan Markle cheers Prince Harry on at the Polo Photo (C) GETTY IMAGES

But a Roman Catholic is still unable to become monarch due to the King or Queen gaining the title of the head of the Church of England.

The only thing Harry would need to marry Meghan would be written permission from the Queen. It is believed the pair would also require a special license from the Archbishop of Canterbury due to Meghan’s previous marriage.

If Harry marries Meghan, he wouldn’t be the first to wed a divorcee. His father, Prince Charles, married Camilla Parker-Bowles in 2005.

However, Charles decided to keep things low-key with a civil ceremony held at Windsor Guildhall.

Prince Harry and Meghan Markle at Wedding in Jamaica 2017 Photo (C) GETTY IMAGES
Prince Harry and Meghan Markle at Wedding in Jamaica 2017 Photo (C) GETTY IMAGES

NBA draft lottery odds for each team
Here are each team’s NBA draft lottery odds

Source: uk style yahoo com

Tags: Prince Harry, Meghan Markle, Harry Meghan, Markle, Wedding, Marriage

Diana Legacy Header Logo Image
inbox gif

Get Update News In Your Inbox:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Latest Update News Images Videos of British Royal Family

↑ Grab this Headline Animator